3MT Website |Competition Rules |Competitor Guide |Competitor FAQ

2021 Presentations|2020 Presentations|2019 Presentations|2018 Presentations

Congratulations to our 2021 Winners

1st: Priyanka Kadav
2nd: Emily Shaw
PC: Yue (Emily) Kang

What is the 3MT?

The 3MT is an important international competition that aims at celebrating research conducted by doctoral and masters students. According to the University of Queensland, founder of the event, the 3MT “cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills”.

Participants have three minutes and a single static slide to effectively explain their research in a language that is appropriate to a non-specialist audience.

Why participate?

Participating in the 3MT can be a way for you to develop important communication and research skills, and to participate in the building of research culture at Michigan Tech. Cash prizes are also available to the top competitors and the people's choice. In addition the winners of the local 3MT competition are given a chance to represent Michigan Tech at the next level of competition, and potentially even national and international 3MT competitions, which provides an excellent networking and professional development opportunity.

Competition Info

This year’s competition will be held on Thursday, November 4, starting at 12.00 PM. Participants will be broken up into heats and compete for head to head. Each heat will be judged by a panel of 3 judges. The winners of these heats will then move on to the finals, where the top 10 will face off. At the end of the finals, a winner and runner-up will be selected. There will also be a People’s Choice award for the competitor that was the audience’s favorite.

The preliminary heats will be held in the MUB Ballroom. The number of competitors to move on from each heat will depend on the total number of participants, with an equal number being selected from each heat.

The finals will be held at The Orpheum Theater.

Competition Rules

  • A single static PowerPoint slide is permitted. No slide transitions, animations or 'movement' of any description are allowed. The slide is to be presented from the beginning of the oration.
  • No additional electronic media (e.g. sound and video files) are permitted.
  • No additional props (e.g. costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment) are permitted.
  • Presentations are limited to 3 minutes maximum and competitors exceeding 3 minutes are disqualified.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (e.g. no poems, raps or songs).
  • Presentations are to commence from the stage.
  • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through either movement or speech.
  • The decision of the adjudicating panel is final.

Participant Training

GSG provides training for participants on how to create an effective 3MT presentation. This training led by Allison Mills will cover how to present your research to a non-technical audience and adequately frame your research narrative. Participant training will be hosted on October 25, 2021.

This workshop is designed to help students better present their research to a general audience. If you don’t have a lot of experience presenting your research before a non-technical audience, this will be very helpful for you. Initially created as a 3MT Competition Preparation event, the seminar is now welcoming all students!

2021 Winners

1st: Priyanka Kadav
2nd: Emily Shaw
PC: Yue (Emily) Kang

2020 Winners
2019 Winners
2018 Winners

1st: Niranjan Miganakallu
2nd: Stephania Vaglica
PC: Niranjan Miganakallu

Who to contact?

If you have any questions about the 3MT competition, feel free to reach out to the GSG Research Chair, Shreya Joshi, at gsg-research@mtu.edu.